Volunteer with Theatre Hullabaloo

Volunteer with Theatre Hullabaloo

Theatre Hullabaloo is looking for a small pool of volunteers to support our programme at The Hullabaloo across the year.

As a volunteer you will be working alongside families that visit The Hullabaloo, enhancing their experience while they are with us by supporting them in activities and giving a friendly welcome as they arrive. This has a great impact on audiences and is a great support for our organisation as without volunteer support, we often wouldn’t be able to run activities in the building.

If you have an interest in culture and working with families and small children then this could be for you.

Deadline: 12pm noon on Thursday 9 January 2020

To Apply: Please read the information pack below and then click here to complete the application form 

For more information click on the link: https://www.theatrehullabaloo.org.uk/who-are-we/join-the-team/ 

Rose and Robin, a show for young and old returns to Darlington Library on Saturday 15 February 2020

Rose and Robin, Mad Alice Theatre Company
Photographer – Jamie Sproates

MAD ALICE THEATRE COMPANY presents ROSE AND ROBIN commissioned by Queen’s Hall Arts

Mad Alice Theatre Company brought Rose and Robin to Darlington Library in October 2019 and wowed audiences here.  Their fantastic performance  thrilled people of all ages and has attracted fantastic comments, ”amazing, loved every minute…such talent and content, thank you”.  Rose and Robin is returns to Darlington Library on Saturday 15 February 2020, with tickets priced £1.50.  Doors open 1.30pm, the performance starts at 2pm with a running time of c 50 minutes.

From childhood to old age, Rose and Robin have had a wonderful life together – and they want to share it with YOU!

From sports to stargazing, they’ve enjoyed so much! And most of all, they loved to dance.

They’ve had their bumps in the road, of course, and now Robin can’t remember where they keep the clothes pegs. But that’s all fine, at the end of the day!

Playful and serious, sad and happy, this is a show that celebrates life in all its richness; a story of love and loss, for old and young… especially if you are over seven and have ever lost a sock… Or someone you love.

So, join Rose and Robin through their days of dances and dreams, music and memories. What could possibly go wrong? Well, quite a bit… but don’t worry. You’ll be helping them with some of the moves!

A perfect play for children to enjoy with their grandparents and parents – they were kids once as well!

A SHOW FOR YOUNG AND OLD!!

Accessible across a wide age range but targeted for ages 7yrs to 70yrs and over!

Running time: 50 mins approx.

Arts Award Adviser Training dates for the North East

Spread a Little Happiness: The Story of the British Musical. Malcolm Jones.

The British Musical was triumphant in the 1920s and 30s when Noel Coward and Ivor Novello dominated the West End.  However, the arrival of Oklahoma in 1948 changed everything.  For the next 30 years, audiences flocked to see the big American shows. Nonetheless, there were British successes. Composers like Julian Slade, Sandy Wilson, David Heneker and of course, Lionel Bart had enormously popular shows. Then, in the 1970s and 80s Andrew Lloyd Webber established the British musical as an international force.

Lecturer Malcolm Jones has lectured at the V and A and was workshop and Events Manager at the V and A Theatre Museum in Covent Garden.  He was responsible for many theatre talks and workshops and has interviewed leading British actors and directors including Kenneth Cranham, Barry Cryer, June Whitfield, Jude Law, Zoe Wanamaker and Don Black.

Malcolm has lectured and led workshops at numerous venues in London, the UK and America and has contributed as a speaker on theatre on many television and radio programmes. 

This promises to be an entertaining and interesting day. 

Monday 2nd December 2019 at 11am and 2pm

Venue : Blackwell Grange Hotel Darlington.  DL3 8QH

Non-members welcome. Morning lecture £10, afternoon lecture £8, payable on the door. 

Website: www.artssociety-nysd.org.uk

Contact: 07816326196

email : davethameside@hotmail.com 

PLAYLAND by Athol Fugard @ Darlington Hippodrome

Elysium Theatre Company in association with Queen’s Hall Arts Centre, Hexham, present the Northern Premiere of PLAYLAND by Athol Fugard at the Hullabaloo Space, Darlington Hippodrome, Sunday 3 November 2019 at 7.30pm. Q&A after show. South Africa, New Year’s Eve 1989: a new country is about to born. On a run down funfair somewhere in the wilderness two men confront each other, one white, one black, both with blood on their hands. As night draws in, each must face what they have done, and work out their lives through their own journey of truth and reconciliation. Athol Fugard is South Africa’s greatest living dramatist (“The voice of the conscience of his nation” – the Spectator). whose plays have been performed and filmed all over the world. ‘Playland’ is a beautiful testimony to the power of the human spirit. “A rich examination of faith, morality and evil that men do… a fabulous example of why theatre is a powerful tool for change… a real theatrical treat.” – North East Theatre Guide

Darlo to ‘Boro is our Grand Tour – A Questions & Answers session

CoJoin Lady Kitt on Thursday, 19th, September to hear all about their time as an artist in residence at the Crown Street Gallery in Darlington. Lady Kitt has been busy working away at the Crown Street Gallery for the last few weeks and is now heading to Middlesbrough to share the love!!

So what have they been up to in Darlington?

In short, A LOT!!!

– A manifesto of manners – how to treat public spaces and the people in them.

– A series of 3D wearable paper sculptures celebrating the town and its people.

– A “book” made specifically for the Darlo archives containing a fold out, interactive, 3D, ever changing/ endlessly changeable map.

– Drag based, interactive street theatre in a large origami boat.

This event is a chance for people to chat to Lady Kitt see some of the work they have created alongside the people of Darlington, make some work yourself (no pressure!) and also ask the very important question…..

Where is Fred*???

*The stuffed polar bear lent by Darlington council to an unnamed museum in Middlesbrough during the 1990s and never seen since …

_______________________________

Tea, Coffee & Snacks provided.

Location:
The Auxiliary
31 Station Street
Middlesbrough
TS1 1SR

Time:
1pm – 3pm , drop in

Free Admission
All ages

https://www.facebook.com/events/419980692056649/

Nightfall 2019 Emerging Artist Bursary Commission

Photo Credit : Jason Hynes. Artwork Credit : Namita Vijayakumar, Nightfall 2016

Stellar Projects, in partnership with Navigator North, are offering Tees Valley / County Durham based emerging artists the opportunity to develop their practice to create new site specific light-based works, with tailored support and mentoring. The resulting site specific installations will be showcased as part of Nightfall 2019.

This opportunity is available for artists from Tees Valley and County Durham who have not previously been commissioned to produce light-based site specific works, but who are interested in developing this aspect of their creative practice. Proposals should respond to the theme of moon inspired folklore. Successful applicants will benefit from a bursary which will include professional development sessions, individual mentoring, workspace and technical support.

Bursary Commission Call Out Event

Wed 18th September 10.30am – 12.30. Preston Park Museum

Meet Navigator North and Stellar Projects to find out more about the bursary commission, be inspired, take a tour of the site and ask any questions to prepare for your application. If you would like to book a place, please email opportunities@navigatornorth.com

To apply visit www.nightfallfestival.co.uk/commission and download an application pack.

Completed application forms should be emailed to opportunities@navigatornorth.com 

Application Deadline 5pm 1 October 2019

Last Train Home 2019 – a colourful, diverse, energetic, fabulous festival of comedy and music in Darlo

As working daytime Saturday 7th September 2019 I missed some of the music, but caught my first live music of this festival at Hogan’s Bar just after 5pm, and was amply entertained by a fabulous and wonderfully diverse programme of music and comedy at various stages for the next five hours.

Given there were so many stages and over 50 artists, and as a music fan, I guess on law of averages I’d find something to my taste.  However its testament to Tracks and those involved in curating this festival programme that all the music and comedy I heard and saw made me happy I’d purchased my £15 ticket (great value in my opinion), made me think, listen, feel, smile and uplifted me beyond the everyday self in the that way that festivals can.

With The Forum music stage (curated by Tracks), The Hullabaloo (curated by Noisy Daughters), St John’s Church (curated by Tracks), Hullabaloo Café (curated by Legitimate Anarchy, Hogan’s Bar (curated by Narc Magazine  and the Forum (Room 1) curated by Hilarity Bites its no surprise the programme was so fabulous. 

Since I didn’t take a note of every band or artists name I saw, my ongoing journey throught the festival is pictured below (apologies for quality of photographs!!!!), in more or less chronological order. It was great to see friends (and devotees of the current music and comedy scenes) making their own journeys through Last Train Home Festival 2019.   It was delightful to be able to travel on foot and see and hear so many artists with original songs and jokes and to be able to see so much colour, and sense so much energy and positivity. 

A big THANK YOU to those volunteering their time to support Last Train Home 2019 re ticket sales and to all involved at the host venues for welcome, technical expertise and hospitality, and to Tracks for bringing this all together in Darlington with their customary energy, drive, intent, expertise and humour, and also for creating some fantastic and user friendly print to guide me through a full programme.

Darlo to ‘Boro is our Grand Tour Residency at Crown Street Gallery and Darlington Library & Archives

Image Credit Sarah Grundy Li and Edwin Li.

During Aug and Sept 2019, Lady Kitt is Artist in Residence at Crown Street Gallery and Darlington Library & Archive as part of Middlesbrough Art Weekender, Supported by Creative Darlington. Here is some further information from Lady Kitt about their approach and ways in which you can get involved

As a starting point I am using:

  1. The title / theme / provocation
    “Darlo to ‘Boro is our Grand Tour” – exploring the idea that cultural life in the North East can be just as [if not more!] exciting, rich and diverse as the 18th century “Grand Tour”. Also, considering the complexity of the inherited privileges of cultural and social spaces [museum collections, art, architecture, libraries] we have in the North East, many of which were paid for by profits from slavery, colonialism and pits /mills with very poor regard for human safety or dignity and who may be excluded from spaces considered to be public
  2. The floor in the Crown Street Gallery
  3. A massive pile of paper

I’m initially creating a 3d map (made from paper) of public spaces in Darlington. The map will be a collaboratively made, participatory installation including physical objects made of paper, items from the archives, written questions / observations about the social and cultural life of Darlington, the North East and connections (social, emotional and cultural) between Darlington and Middlesbrough.

I imagine the map will “grow” out of the floor of the gallery. The locations which appear on the map will all by suggested (either via social media or in person by popping into the gallery- please see below for times I’m around) by people who have a connection to Darlington. Locations can by physical or imagined. Physical representation of the locations will be made by me and anyone else who fancies joining in. I am particularly interested in hearing about queer space, accessible spaces and spaces which might exist in the future.
 
Everyone involved (in making / making suggestions) will be credited as co-authors of the work.

This could be a starting point which develops into something completely different or could form the basis of the final event/exhibition/celebration. I imagine the work will reference the history of the town/region (through exploration of the archives), the contemporary life of the town / region and our imagined futures. I guess it will also draw on my experiences of growing up near Darlington and my changing perceptions, now returning as an adult.

If you’d like to pop in for a chat / a cuppa/ a make/ a biscuit, I’m in the gallery:

Aug
Thurs 15th 10am – 1pm
Mon 19th  10am- 1pm
Weds 21st 11am- 2pm
Weds 28th 3-6pm
 
Sept
Mon 2nd 3-6pm
Weds 4th 10am-1pm
Mon 9th  10am- 1pm
Weds 11th  10am- 1pm

Directions to the gallery and access info HERE
 

If you would like to make any suggestions about possible locations please email me at lady_kitt@lladykitt.com with the heading “Darlo to ’Boro location”

On Sat 19th Sept there will also be a sharing event about the residency as part of Middlesbrough Art Weekender. Further information about the event can be found here.

New in Town

We are seeking proposals for arts activity or arts development which can be shared within Darlington Town Centre subject to our budget support and those submitting proposals securing additional budget which at least matches what we commit from sources other than Darlington Borough Council.  

We have allocated budget of £20,000 to support the creation and sharing of new creative work or arts development activity in Darlington Town Centre. We expect to support between two and four awards and are offering support of up to £10,000 to artists, curators, producers, arts organisations and enterprises to deliver selected proposals in Darlington Town Centre, subject to agreement. 

WHAT WE’RE LOOKING FOR

We are looking for proposals to be shared with the public for the first time in Darlington, original activity which has not toured elsewhere and which ideally responds at least in part to Darlington Town Centre. These might be to:

• develop an original event, performance, exhibition or participatory art project which is allied to an established Town Centre based event or festival

• animate the Town Centre through art in a new creative way

• explore and pilot the viability of new creative space, resource or way of engaging the public

All proposals supported must bring public benefit and we are looking to support programme or resources which can be accessed by the public at least in part without charge.

HOW TO APPLY

If you are interested in this call out and would like to find out more, read the PDF Document with further details about the New in Town Call Out below (click the button)

Photo Credits : Joanne Coates, The Unseen Beautiful Call Out Commission 2019. Creative Darlington

New In Town is a Call Out brought to you by Creative Darlington, backed by Darlington Borough Council.